菜單
十二月 2022

著名二十一點玩家 - 向行家學習!

了解大多數二十一點愛好者從未聽說過的專業人士。


Pro Blackjack Players 影響遊戲行業的玩家

了解大多數二十一點愛好者從未聽說過的專業人士。

作者: Astrid Eriksson | 最新評論: 20 Aug 2022

作為一名職業二十一點玩家,我尊重傳奇的二十一點玩家。他們對全世界的玩家產生了鼓舞人心和強大的影響。我想在 BETO.com 上向他們致敬,這樣我就可以用語言表達我的感受,最後對他們所做的一切表示感謝。

本文將包括那些值得進入二十一點名人堂的傳奇人物。他們介紹了我們今天使用的策略和技術。他們不僅贏得了巨額獎金,而且還激勵新玩家更加認真地對待二十一點。

從 Don Johnson 這樣的百萬富翁到 Lawrence Revere 這樣的創新思維,本文將介紹偉人並分享他們的貢獻。老實說,這裡沒有提到幾位傳奇球員。原因是我想在這篇 BETO 的二十一點文章中介紹對我影響最大的二十一點專家。

這裡提到的二十一點傳奇不僅是最令人印象深刻的,而且 BETO 辦公室的二十一點專家也非常重視他們。

回到目錄

Blackjack Pro Lawrence Revere: Card Counter Shark

大多數職業二十一點玩家都受到了勞倫斯·里維爾的啟發。

大多數職業二十一點玩家都受到了勞倫斯·里維爾的啟發。

勞倫斯·里維爾(Lawrence Revere)是一位才華橫溢的二十一點戰略家,以他的著作《將二十一點作為生意》而聞名他是最著名的職業球員之一。他擁有數學學位,在製定玩家仍然遵循的策略時派上用場。 Revere 最重要的成就之一是他的策略永遠改變了玩家玩二十一點的方式。

Revere Point Count是他最受歡迎的策略,被認為是基準策略。 Revere Point Count策略最顯著的優勢是它相對易於使用,因此吸引了更多人。

里維爾先生無疑是一個富有創新精神和活潑的人。他是賭場的老闆,所以他知道賭場的內部運作。可以說,里維爾是二十一點遊戲的學生,他利用自己的工作經驗和數學學位制定了先進而直接的策略。

據說,Revere 曾經為莊家和玩家提供建議,這當然是不尋常的。勞倫斯·里維爾於 2005 年入選二十一點名人堂,毫無疑問,這是他應得的。

回到目錄

專業二十一點玩家 - 博弈論專家

二十一點專家通過他們的理論發展、戰略書籍和促進遊戲的傳奇獎金改變了一切。正因為如此,我們可以從多種策略中進行選擇,並在賭場中獲得優勢。因此,讓我們看看一些傑出的專家及其貢獻。

回到目錄

阿伯丁四騎士 - 像專業人士一樣玩二十一點

阿伯丁四騎士是美國陸軍工程師的名字,他們根據玩家和莊家的牌制定了最佳的遊戲策略。 Roger Baldwin、Wilbert Cantey、Herbert Maisel 和 James McDermott 都是出色的貢獻者。他們的發現也發表在《美國統計協會雜誌》上。

在 1950 年代,這是一項非凡的成就,因為他們沒有像計算機這樣的現代技術來幫助他們。他們只有台式計算器。最後,他們的書Playing to Win於 1957 年出版,它被證明是關於二十一點的最有影響力的書籍之一

儘管他們的策略很重要,但它激發了其他人對二十一點策略的興趣,並導致了該領域的一些發展。你可以說他們開發了一個巨大的二十一點戰略建築的基礎。由於他們在 2008 年的貢獻,他們入選了二十一點名人堂。

回到目錄

職業二十一點球員詹姆斯格羅斯讓反對賭場

Live Blackjack (Evolution Gaming)

在線賭博不同於陸上賭場。

閱讀評論

在線賭博不同於陸上賭場。

詹姆斯·格羅斯讓(James Grosjean)擅長在他童年時玩的任何遊戲中找到最佳策略。他過去經常打麻將,並且經常打敗他的朋友,以至於他們不再和他打了。

多年後,詹姆斯過去常常在周末和他的朋友們玩二十一點。當一位荷官向他展示她的底牌時,他終於有了一個想法。詹姆斯使用他的計算機根據底牌確定最佳策略

James 於 2000 年出版了他的巨著 Beyond Counting: Exploiting Casino Games from Blackjack to Video Poker。這是一本詳細的書,包含各種策略並解釋了它們背後的數學原理。

回到目錄

格羅斯讓二十一點策略和二十一點計算機

Grosjean 與 Keith Taft 在二十一點計算機上合作,這使他們在計算機遊戲合法的賭場情況下獲得了優勢。與詹姆斯一樣的二十一點名人堂成員基思·塔夫脫(Keith Taft)稱讚了詹姆斯並說他的精彩節目。

詹姆斯與賭場發生了一些法律糾紛,因為他們不公平地拘留了他。凱撒宮和皇家賭場將他拘留,他將他們告上法庭並獲勝。你可以估計詹姆斯有多好,因為賭場懷疑作弊。

由於詹姆斯的訴訟,格里芬調查公司遭受的損失最大,因為他們負責刑事訴訟。支付費用破壞了他們的財務狀況,他們不得不申請破產。

最終,詹姆斯在 2006 年入選二十一點名人堂時得到了他應得的認可

James 出版了另一本書Exhibit CAA:Beyond Counting ,這本書價值連城。然而,詹姆斯只將它提供給他的朋友或他信任的人。

回到目錄

湯米海蘭團隊與討厭的賭場荷官比賽

European Blackjack MH (Play'n GO)

二十一點愛好者期望在線玩時獲得最佳二十一點賠率。

免費遊戲

二十一點愛好者期望在線玩時獲得最佳二十一點賠率。

湯米·海蘭 (Tommy Hyland) 受到勞倫斯·里維爾 (Lawrence Revere) 的《把二十一點當作生意》一書的啟發,於 1979 年開始了他的職業生涯。湯米很快就招募了一些朋友,開始玩一些很棒的二十一點。湯米的團隊令人驚訝的是,他的團隊是有史以來運行時間最長的二十一點團隊之一。

他的團隊利用了電腦遊戲、隨機播放跟踪和 ace 排序技術。令人興奮的是,他們在溫莎賭場因王牌測序被捕後贏得了官司。

賭場盡最大努力讓他們因作弊而被判有罪。然而,法官裁定球隊沒有作弊,而是使用了一種聰明的策略。這產生了重大影響,並鼓舞了幾位二十一點玩家的士氣。

回到目錄

麻省理工學院二十一點隊 - 拉斯維加斯傳奇

麻省理工學院二十一點團隊是一群才華橫溢的學生和來自麻省理工學院、哈佛大學和其他傑出大學的前學生。他們使用算牌和其他策略來獲得優勢並從幾家賭場獲得巨額勝利。

我們不想讓您厭煩歷史課,因為 MIT Blackjack 團隊有著悠久而詳盡的歷史。該團隊由 Bill Kaplan、JP Massar 和 John Chang 領導。他們的球隊在 90 年代初期發展到近 80 名球員。他們甚至啟發了一本關於拆遷房屋的書,以及 2008 年上映的電影21

他們作為賭場玩家和算牌員的成功是毋庸置疑的。我們很高興他們不僅製作了一部受 MIT Blackjack Team 啟發的電影,而且該團隊的傑出成員也出現在了電影中。請注意,這部電影需要大量的藝術自由,並沒有準確地展示發生了什麼。

如果您在考慮組建團隊並從賭場拿走所有現金之前給Live Blackjack一個機會,那將會有所幫助。觀看下面的視頻,了解現場二十一點如何幫助您成為更好的二十一點玩家。

視頻來自: 著名二十一點玩家 - 向行家學習!

二十一點基本策略圖表可以幫助您在真人荷官遊戲中提高自己的水平。

回到目錄

二十一點大師肯烏斯頓

1977 年,Ken 與 Roger Rapoport 合著了一本書,名為The Big Player: How a Team of Blackjack Players Made 一百萬美元肯的書揭露了傳奇的阿爾弗朗切斯科團隊的秘密,肯也是該團隊多年的一員

阿爾弗朗切斯科對肯的書不滿意,肯和阿爾弗朗切斯科之間的關係走下坡路。儘管如此,這本書還是很成功,肯被邀請出現在早安美國節目中談論他的書。肯是一位有天賦的作家,他繼續寫了幾本關於二十一點的書,如百萬美元二十一點和三分之一鞋。

在寫書的同時,肯組建了一個團隊並從賭場贏得了數百萬美元。 Ken 的團隊可以說比 Al 的舊團隊更好,因為他們使用電子設備來獲得優勢。最終,肯被禁止進入幾家賭場。他將Resorts International 告上法庭,因為他的團隊只使用算牌,因此他輕鬆獲勝

你可以說肯太好了,賭場不得不把他趕出去,以阻止他不斷獲勝。他仍然是有史以來最著名的二十一點玩家之一。

回到目錄

唐·約翰遜:二十一點豪客

唐·約翰遜是二十一點歷史上最大的贏家之一,在 Tropicana 賭場贏了 600 萬美元,在 Borgata 贏了 500 萬美元,在 Caesars 贏了 400 萬美元。約翰遜之所以能贏這麼多,是因為他每手下注 100,000 美元。簡而言之,他在玩高額賭註二十一點,並不斷贏得賭場的勝利。

約翰遜讓賭場同意一些特殊規則,例如莊家被迫站在軟 17 和 20% 的重大損失回扣。這些規則幫助他贏得了更多,但如果沒有這些規則,他仍然會贏得很多,因為他是一位出色的二十一點玩家。

令人驚訝的是,賭場同意為約翰遜改變規則。也許,他們不知道他的能力。他們可能認為他只是運氣好,他們正在等待他的運氣用完。它沒有發生,約翰遜只是繼續獲勝。

他有免費的賭注來發現莊家的錯誤,並帶著一群人幫助他,分散莊家的注意力。約翰遜總共獲得了 1500 萬美元的利潤

約翰遜起初甚至不是二十一點的狂熱愛好者,因為他想成為一名騎師,後來在賽馬場工作。然而,我們很高興他發現了二十一點並製定了擊敗賭場的完美策略。

回到目錄

算牌之父:Edward O. Thorp

Edward O. Thorp:算牌之父

Edward O. Thorp:算牌之父

愛德華奧克利索普被視為算牌之父。儘管他不是第一個開發算牌系統的人,但他的10 Count System通過接觸廣泛的受眾普及了算牌。他在 1962 年出版的《擊敗經銷商》一書中介紹了他的系統

10 計數係統改變了二十一點的世界。索普的書銷量超過 700,000 冊,但他的方法不足以應對多副牌。索普後來在 1966 年與 Julian Braun 合作開發了另一個系統。這個系統被稱為 Hi-Lo Count,被認為是初學者可以學習的最佳計數係統。

毫不誇張地說,索普奠定了算牌的基礎,賭場不得不改變規則來對抗索普的方法

拉斯維加斯試圖引入新規則,但如果規則改變,玩家拒絕參加比賽。所以賭場開始在一些遊戲中使用多套牌,玩家也慢慢接受了這種變化。現在我們無法想像只有一副牌的二十一點莊家遊戲

簡而言之,索普將永遠成為二十一點歷史的一部分,因為他的出色作品和算牌之父

回到目錄

職業二十一點的作者:Stanford Wong

Stanford Wong 是 John Ferguson 的作者姓名,他以 1975 年出版的《職業二十一點遊戲》一書而聞名。職業二十一點是關於二十一點的最著名書籍之一,儘管它迎合了有經驗的玩家。令人興奮的事實是,這本書仍然被認為是一本好書,而且銷量也不錯。

當約翰遇到困難時,二十一點為他提供了解脫和歡樂。約翰不僅是一位出色的二十一點玩家,而且還是一位出色的遊戲分析師。有趣的是,約翰讀了索普的書,擊敗莊家,並使用他的 10 計數係統來贏得更多的勝利。正如你所看到的,偉大球員的書有助於培養其他偉大球員,他們的書也同樣如此。

約翰在他的書中提到的一種技術被稱為“wonging”。這種技術包括觀察比賽並在正確的時間加入以提高獲勝的機會。不幸的是,賭場通過在某一點之後阻止玩家進入遊戲來對抗這種技術。

Wong 繼續出版有關二十一點的書籍,例如亞洲二十一點、錦標賽二十一點、不計其數的獲勝、基本二十一點和二十一點秘密。黃是二十一點最多產的作家之一,幾十年來他一直在寫二十一點方面的書籍。

回到目錄

向最好的二十一點玩家學習,自己成為職業玩家!

如果沒有像 Edward O. Thorp、Lawrence Revere、James Grosjean 和 Ken Uston 這樣的傳奇二十一點玩家的貢獻,我們將會迷失方向。有些人為該理論做出了貢獻,而另一些人則贏得了大獎並啟發了下一代二十一點玩家。

玩家們現在享受了幾種先進的策略和技術,這一切都歸功於早期的二十一點玩家為我們付出了辛勤的工作。

約翰·梅、比爾·贊德和阿諾德·辛德等許多傳奇人物都沒有出現在這裡。由於這是一篇個人文章,我們只能包括那些對我們意義重大的二十一點玩家。但是,我們尊重所有讓贏得更多勝利變得更容易的傳奇人物。

賭場和二十一點玩家之間的鬥爭仍在繼續,但偉大的玩家似乎總是佔上風。他們說知識就是力量,如果您想擊敗賭場並贏得大獎,我們建議向這些偉大的玩家學習。

BETO 的所有讀者都可以享受我們的專家提供的免費文章,這些專家花費了數十年時間研究賭場遊戲並向最優秀的玩家學習。我們的專家也喜歡在世界各地的賭場玩遊戲,因此您應該閱讀我們的文章并快速跟踪您的進度。

回到目錄

關於二十一點玩家的常見問題

在本節中,我們將了解一些關於著名二十一點玩家和一般玩二十一點的常見問題。

誰是有史以來最偉大的二十一點玩家?

一些最偉大的二十一點球員是詹姆斯格羅斯讓、唐約翰遜、肯烏斯頓、愛德華奧索普、湯米海蘭和勞倫斯里維爾。

二十一點玩家開發的最好的算牌系統是什麼?

一些最好的算牌系統是 Hi-Lo、Ace Five Count、The Red Seven Count 和 Knock Out。

哪些二十一點玩家贏的錢最多?

二十一點歷史上最大的勝利是由克里·帕克(Kerry Packer)獲得的,他一晚上就贏了 4000 萬美元。唐·約翰遜(Don Johnson)在大西洋城的主要賭場玩了幾個月,贏得了 1500 萬美元。 Ken Uston 多年來贏得了 450 萬美元,這無疑是二十一點早期最大的勝利之一。

哪位二十一點玩家被稱為算牌之父?

Edward O. Thorp 是卡片計數之父,因為他的 10 計數係統將卡片計數帶到了最前沿。

著名二十一點玩家寫的關於二十一點的最佳書籍是什麼?

最好的書取決於您的喜好,但一些關於二十一點的最佳書籍是 Edward O. Thorp 的 Beat the Dealer、Fred Renzey 的 Blackjack Bluebook 2、Ken Uston 的百萬美元二十一點和 Stanford Wong 的專業二十一點。

歷史上運行時間最長的二十一點球隊是哪位二十一點玩家?

湯米·海蘭 (Tommy Hyland) 經營他的團隊數十年,這是有史以來運行時間最長的二十一點團隊。這一切之所以成為可能,是因為海蘭德的領導才能和快速找到替補球員的能力。

哪支二十一點團隊啟發了凱文史派西主演的電影 21?

由 Bill Kaplan、JP Massar 和 John Chang 領導的 MIT Blackjack 團隊啟發了電影 21。Bill Mezrich 寫了一本關於 MIT Blackjack 團隊的書,名為“打倒房子”,這也是電影 21 的靈感來源。

MENU
JULY 2022

Famous Blackjack Players - Learn from the Pros!

Some of the most notable blackjack players who have impacted the gaming industry


Notable Blackjack Players Who Have Influenced the Gaming Industry

Some of the most notable blackjack players who have impacted the gaming industry

Written by: Astrid Eriksson | The review was last updated: 11 Feb 2022

As a professional blackjack player, I respect the legendary blackjack players. They have had an inspiring and powerful effect on players worldwide. I want to honour them on BETO.com so that I can put my feelings into words and finally express my gratitude for everything they have done.

This article will include those legends that deserve to be in the blackjack hall of fame. They have introduced the strategies and techniques that we use today. Not only did they win vast sums of money, but they also inspired new players to take blackjack more seriously.

From multi-millionaires like Don Johnson to innovative minds like Lawrence Revere, this article will cover the greats and share their contributions. Honestly, several legendary players aren’t mentioned here. The reason is that I want to cover blackjack experts that have influenced me the most in this BETO’s blackjack article.

The blackjack legends mentioned here are not only the most impressive, but the blackjack experts in the BETO’s office hold them in high regard.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Top 3 - Blackjack Casinos

EXCLUSIVE
US The Expert's Choice
King Billy
100% up to €1000
+200 Free Spins

*Terms apply

Minimum deposit: €10

Wagering: 30X Bonus

*T&C

**18+. no deposit (Ts&Cs apply) 100% up to €1000. Total of four deposit match bonuses. Min deposit €10. 30x wagering requirement. T&C's Apply. Please gamble responsibly • www.begambleaware.org • Bonus terms

Top 3 - Blackjack Casinos

EXCLUSIVE
The Expert's Choice
100% up to €1000
+200 Free Spins

T&C  **18+. no deposit (Ts&Cs apply) 100% up to €1000. Total of four deposit match bonuses. Min deposit €10. 30x wagering requirement. T&C's Apply. Please gamble responsibly • www.begambleaware.org • Bonus terms

Lawrence Revere: The Blackjack Shark

Lawrence Revere one of the old school blackjack sharks the casinos feared

Lawrence Revere one of the old school blackjack sharks the casinos feared

Lawrence Revere was a brilliant blackjack strategist best known for his book Playing Blackjack as Business. He had a degree in mathematics that came in handy while developing his strategies that players still follow. One of the most significant achievements of Revere is that his strategies have changed how players play blackjack forever.

Revere Point Count is his most popular strategy, and it is considered a benchmark strategy. The most significant advantage of the Revere Point Count strategy is that it is relatively easy to use, so more people are attracted to it.

Mr Revere was undoubtedly an innovative and lively person. He was a casino pit boss, so he knew about the inner workings of a casino. You can say that Revere was a student of the game of blackjack, and he used his work experience and his mathematics degree to develop advanced and straightforward strategies.

It is said that Revere used to advise both the dealers and the players, which is certainly unusual. Lawrence Revere was inducted into the Blackjack Hall of Fame in 2005, and there is no doubt that he deserved it.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Blackjack Game Theory Experts

Blackjack experts have changed everything through their theory development, books on strategy, and legendary winnings that promoted the game. Because of them, we can choose from several strategies and gain an edge over the casino. So let us look at some of the prominent experts and their contributions.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Our Top Blackjack Bonuses!

EXCLUSIVE
The Expert's Choice
100% up to €1000
+200 Free Spins

T&C  **18+. no deposit (Ts&Cs apply) 100% up to €1000. Total of four deposit match bonuses. Min deposit €10. 30x wagering requirement. T&C's Apply. Please gamble responsibly • www.begambleaware.org • Bonus terms

The Four Horsemen of Aberdeen

Four Horseman of Aberdeen is the name given to U.S. Army engineers who developed the optimal playing strategy based on the player’s and the dealer’s cards. Roger Baldwin, Wilbert Cantey, Herbert Maisel, and James McDermott are fantastic contributors. Their findings were also presented in the Journal of the American Statistical Association.

In the 1950s, this was an exceptional achievement because they didn’t have any modern technology like computers to assist them. All they had was desk calculators. Finally, their book Playing to Win was published in 1957, and it proved to be one of the most impactful books on blackjack.

Even though their strategy was essential, it sparked the interest of others in blackjack strategy and led to several developments in the field. You could say that they developed the base over which the colossal building of blackjack strategy was built. They were inducted into the Blackjack Hall of Fame thanks to their contributions in 2008.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Blackjack Player James Grosjean Against the Casinos

Live Blackjack (Evolution Gaming)

Test your skills in blackjack against live dealers from a real casino

READ THE REVIEW

Test your skills in blackjack against live dealers from a real casino

James Grosjean was great at finding the optimal strategy in whatever game he played in his childhood. He used to play Mah Jong and beat his friends so much that they stopped playing against him.

Years later, James used to play blackjack with his friends on weekends. He was finally able to develop an idea when a dealer revealed her hole card to him. James used his computer to determine the optimal strategy based on the hole card.

James published his magnum opus Beyond Counting: Exploiting Casino Games from Blackjack to Video Poker in 2000. It is a detailed book that contains various strategies and explains the maths behind them.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Grosjean and the Blackjack Computer

Grosjean worked with Keith Taft on a blackjack computer that gave them an edge in a casino situation where computer play was legal. Keith Taft, a Blackjack Hall of Fame member like James, praised James and said his brilliant programming.

James had some legal battles with casinos because they detained him unfairly. Caesars Palace and Imperial Casino detained him, and he took them to court and won. You can estimate how good James was because the casinos were suspicious of cheating.

Griffin Investigations suffered the most because of James’s lawsuits because they were responsible for the criminal proceedings. Paying the fees destroyed their finances, and they had to file for bankruptcy.

Finally, James got the recognition he deserved as he was inducted into the Blackjack Hall of Fame in 2006.

James published another book by Exhibit CAA: Beyond Counting, which could be worth its weight in gold. However, James only made it available to his friends or people he trusted.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Claim Bonus & Play Blackjack now!

  • 1Follow our link to King Billy
  • 2Create your free account
  • 3You will receive your 200 Free Spins
  • 4Make a deposit and get up to €1000 in welcome bonus
  • 5We wish you good luck at King Billy!
GET YOUR KING BILLY BONUS

*Get your bonus on next page

Tommy Hyland and the Blackjack Team

European Blackjack MH (Play'n GO)

Test your skills against computer blackjack for free here on the BETO website

Free game

Test your skills against computer blackjack for free here on the BETO website

Tommy Hyland was inspired by Lawrence Revere’s book Playing Blackjack as Business and began his career in 1979. Tommy quickly recruited some friends and started playing some great blackjack. The surprising thing about Tommy’s team is that his team is one of the longest-running blackjack teams ever.

His team utilized computer play, shuffle tracking, and ace sequencing techniques. The exciting part is that they won the case after being arrested for ace sequencing at Casino Windsor.

The casino tried its best to get them convicted for cheating. However, the judge ruled that the team wasn’t cheating but using an intelligent strategy. This made a significant impact and boosted the morale of several blackjack players.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

MIT Blackjack Team

The MIT Blackjack Team was a talented group of students and ex-students from MIT, Harvard University, and other exceptional colleges. They used card counting and other strategies to gain an advantage and score huge wins from several casinos.

We don’t want to bore you with the history lesson because the MIT Blackjack Team has a long and elaborate history. The team was led by Bill Kaplan, J.P. Massar, and John Chang. Their team grew to nearly 80 players in the early 90s. They even inspired a book Bringing Down the House, and the film, 21, released in 2008.

Their success as casino players and card counters is unquestionable. We are glad that they didn’t just make a movie inspired by the MIT Blackjack Team, but the prominent members of the team also showed up in the movie. Note that the movie takes a lot of artistic liberty and doesn’t show what happened precisely.

It would help if you gave Live Blackjack a chance before you consider forming your team and taking all of the cash from the casinos. Watch the video below to understand how live blackjack can help you become a better blackjack player.

Blackjack on the internet is the perfect way to practice your blackjack skills

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Blackjack Grandmaster Ken Uston

In 1977, Ken did the unimaginable by co-authoring a book with Roger Rapoport titled The Big Player: How a Team of Blackjack Players Made a Million Dollars. Ken’s book exposed the secrets of the legendary Al Francesco’s team, which Ken was also a part of for years.

Al Francesco wasn’t happy about Ken’s book, and the relationship between Ken and Al Francesco went downhill. Still, the book was a success, and Ken was asked to appear on Good Morning America to talk about his book. Ken was a gifted writer who continued to write several books on blackjack like Million Dollar Blackjack and One-Third of a Shoe.

While writing his books, Ken formed a team and won millions from the casinos. Ken’s team was arguably better than Al’s old team because they used electronic devices to gain an advantage. Eventually, Ken was barred from several casinos. He took Resorts International to court for barring him and won easily because his team was only using card counting.

You could say that Ken was too good, and the casinos had to throw him out to stop him from constantly winning. He continues to be one of the most celebrated blackjack players of all time.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Don Johnson: The Blackjack Highroller

Don Johnson is one of the biggest winners in the history of blackjack, winning $6 million in Tropicana casino, $5 million in Borgata, and $4 million in Caesars. Johnson could win so much because he bet $100,000 on each hand. In short, he was playing high-stakes blackjack and constantly winning against the casinos.

Johnson had made the casinos agree to some special rules like the dealer being forced to stand on soft 17 and a 20% rebate for significant losses. These rules helped him win more, but he would have still won a lot without them because he is an outstanding blackjack player.

The surprising part is that the casinos agreed to bend the rules for Johnson. Maybe, they had no idea what he was capable of. They might have thought that he was just lucky, and they were waiting for his luck to run out. It didn’t happen, and Johnson just kept winning.

He had free bets for spotting the mistakes of the dealers and carried a bunch of people to help him and distract the dealers. In total, Johnson earned a profit of $15 million.

Johnson wasn’t even a blackjack enthusiast at first because he wanted to be a jockey and later worked in the racetracks. However, we are glad that he discovered blackjack and crafted the perfect strategy to beat the casinos.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Father of Card Counting: Edward O. Thorp

Edward O. Thorp: The Father of Card Counting

Edward O. Thorp: The Father of Card Counting

Edward Oakley Thorp is regarded as the Father of Card Counting. Even though he wasn’t the first to develop a card counting system, his 10 Count System popularized card counting by reaching a broad audience. He presented his system in his book Beat the Dealer, published in 1962.

The 10 Count System changed the world of blackjack. Thorp’s book sold more than 700,000 copies, but his method wasn’t adequate for multiple decks. Thorp later developed another system in collaboration with Julian Braun in 1966. This system was known as the Hi-Lo Count, considered the best counting system a beginner can learn.

It would not be a stretch to say that Thorp laid the foundation of card counting, and the casinos had to change the rules to counter Thorp’s method.

Las Vegas tried to introduce new rules, but players refused to play if the rules were changed. So the casinos started using multiple decks in some games, and the players slowly adopted this change. Now we can’t imagine a blackjack dealer game with a single deck.

In short, Thorp will always be a part of blackjack history for his brilliant works and being the Father of Counting Cards.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Writer of Professional Blackjack: Stanford Wong

Stanford Wong is the author name of John Ferguson, who is best known for his book Professional Blackjack games published in 1975. Professional Blackjack is one of the most famous books on blackjack, even though it caters to experienced players. The exciting fact is that this book is still regarded as a great book and the sales are decent.

Blackjack provided relief and joy to John when he had a tough time. John wasn’t only a great blackjack player, but he was also a great game analyst. Interestingly, John read Thorp’s book, Beat the Dealer, and used his 10 Count System to win more often. As you can see, the books of great players help nurture other great players and then their books do the same.

One technique that John mentioned in his book was called “wonging.” This technique involves observing the game and jumping in at the right time to improve one’s chances of winning. Unfortunately, casinos countered this technique by stopping the entry of players into the game after a certain point.

Wong continued to release books on blackjack like Blackjack in Asia, Tournament Blackjack, Winning Without Counting, basic blackjack, and Blackjack Secrets. Wong is one of the most prolific writers on blackjack, who wrote books on blackjack for decades.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Learn From the Best Blackjack Players and Become a pro Yourself!

We would be lost without the contribution of legendary blackjack players like Edward O. Thorp, Lawrence Revere, James Grosjean, and Ken Uston. Some have contributed to the theory, while others have won big and inspired the next generation of blackjack players.

The players enjoy several advanced strategies and techniques right now, all thanks to the earlier blackjack players who did the hard work for us.

Many legends like John May, Bill Zender, and Arnold Synder aren’t featured here. Since this was a personal article, we could only include those blackjack players that mean a lot to us. However, we respect all blackjack legends who have made it easier to win more often.

The struggle between the casinos and the blackjack players continues, but great players always seem to have the upper hand. They say that knowledge is power, and we recommend learning from these great players if you want to beat the casino and win big.

All readers of BETO can enjoy free articles from our experts who have spent decades studying casino games and learning from the best players. Our experts also enjoy playing in casinos worldwide, so you should read our articles and fast track your progress.

BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pictures from this article

Frequently Asked Questions About Blackjack Players

In this section, we will look at some frequently asked questions about famous blackjack players and playing blackjack in general.

Who are the greatest blackjack players of all time?

Some of the greatest blackjack players are James Grosjean, Don Johnson, Ken Uston, Edward O. Thorp, Tommy Hyland, and Lawrence Revere.

What are the best card counting systems developed by blackjack players?

Some of the best card counting systems are Hi-Lo, the Ace Five Count, The Red Seven Count, and Knock Out.

Which blackjack players have won the most money?

The biggest win in blackjack history was scored by Kerry Packer, who won $40 million in one night. Don Johnson won $15 million in a few months by playing in major casinos in Atlantic City. Ken Uston won $4.5 million over several years, and it is undoubtedly one of the biggest early wins in blackjack.

Which blackjack player is known as the Father of Card Counting?

Edward O. Thorp is the father of card counting because his 10 Count System brought card counting to the forefront.

What are the best books on blackjack written by famous blackjack players?

The best books depend on your preference, but some of the best books on blackjack are Beat the Dealer by Edward O. Thorp, Blackjack Bluebook 2 by Fred Renzey, Million Dollar Blackjack by Ken Uston, and Professional Blackjack by Stanford Wong.

Which blackjack player ran the longest-running blackjack team in history?

Tommy Hyland ran his team for decades, and it is the longest-running blackjack team of all time. This was all made possible because of Hyland’s leadership qualities and ability to quickly find replacements for players that left.

Which blackjack team has inspired the movie 21 starring Kevin Spacey?

The MIT Blackjack Team led by Bill Kaplan, J.P. Massar, and John Chang inspired the movie 21. Bill Mezrich wrote a book on the MIT Blackjack Team called Bringing Down the House, and it served as inspiration for the film 21.